Head of the Department:
Maj Gen Professor Dr. Maqbool Ahmed (Retd), MBBS, FCPS (Surgery) OJT Urology (England)
Professor of Surgery
Foundation University Medical College
Head Department of Surgery
Fauji Foundation Hospital, Rawalpindi Consultant General & Laproscopic Surgeon

Morning Clinic : 0800 AM 0200 PM - Fauji Foundation Hospital, Rawalpindi
Evening Clinic : 0600 PM 0800 PM - 1st Floor Rafay Mall Near Choor Chowk
Contact : 0321-5556223
Contact (PA) : 0333-5554862 0314-5651433

The department of surgery comprises of three units and provides comprehensive care in:

  • General surgery including colorectal, endocrine and hepatobiliary surgery.
  • Laparoscopic Surgery
  • Oncological surgery
  • Paediatric Surgery

  • Each surgical unit is composed of consultants, registrars, postgraduate trainees, house surgeons and nursing staff. The stress of the department is on patient focused care. The department strives to maintain close liaison with other hospital services to deliver quality patient care in an efficient manner in the shortest possible time. The department has developed clinical protocols in order to organize coordinated and quality management of patients. Weekly meetings of a multi-disciplinary team are held to ensure closely coordinated care of patients with malignancies.
    The department has 150 in-patient beds, 10 intensive care beds and four fully equipped operation theaters. A surgical team is available in the hospital round the clock, seven days a week, for prompt management of emergencies.
    Postoperative care is meticulously carried out and qualified surgeons are available at any hour to manage any complications that may arise in postoperative period. The department has also developed a day care surgery program to make patient care cost-effective and convenient for the patient.

    Professor Maj Gen Professor Dr. Maqbool Ahmed MBBS, FCPS (Surgery)
    Professor Dr Aurangzeb (MBBS,FCPS) PM&DC Reg No.1641-P
    Professor Dr Samiullah (MBBS,FCPS) PM&DC Reg No. 26133-P
    Associate Professor Dr Syed Inamullah Shah (MBBS, FCPS, MHPE) PM&DC Reg No. 4071-N
    Asstt Professor Dr Mehreen Baig (MBBS, FCPS, MRCS) PM&DC Reg No. 43836-P
    Asstt Professor Dr. Muhammad Imran MBBS,FCPS PM&DC Reg No. 36511-P

    Asstt Professor Dr. Muhammad Attique Sadiq (MBBS,FCPS) PM&DC Reg No. 28042-P
    Asstt Professor Dr Khalil Ur Rehman (MBBS, FCPS) PM&DC Reg No. 35814-P
    Dr Muhammad Taimur (MBBS,FCPS) PM&DC No. 3495-P
    Dr Jamil Ahmad Shah (MBBS,FCPS) PM&DC No. 3651-B
    Dr Saira Khalid (MBBS, FCPS) PM&DC Reg No. 57667-P
    Dr Mehvish Noor (MBBS) PM&DC Reg No. 57490-S